Champions LeagueFootball

Champions League group-stage draw to be held today

The draw for the 2020/21 Champions League group stage will take place on Thursday, October 1.

The 32 clubs in the 2020/2021 Champions League season will know their fate today, Thursday, October 1, with the seeding pots for the group-stage draw now set.

The draw will take place at UEFA’s headquarters, on the shore of Lake Geneva starting from 4 p.m. BST, 11 a.m. ET.

UEFA will also announce the award winners for the 2019-20 season.

Champions League holders Bayern Munich are top-seeded, along with Europa League winners Sevilla FC.

They are joined in Pot 1 by the champions of the top six leagues, namely Real MadridLiverpoolParis Saint-GermainJuventus, and Zenit St PetersburgFC Porto are promoted to Pot 1 as Bayern won the Bundesliga title and did not require the slot.

The other three pots are ranked based on UEFA’s five-year coefficient of performance in European competition.

Pot 1: Bayern Munich, Sevilla, Real Madrid, Liverpool, Juventus, PSG, Zenit St Petersburg, FC Porto

Pot 2: Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Manchester City, Manchester United, Borussia Dortmund, Shakhtar Donetsk, Chelsea, Ajax

Pot 3: Dynamo Kiev, FC Salzburg, RB Leipzig, Internazionale, Olympiakos, Lazio, Krasnodar, Atalanta

Pot 4: Lokomotiv Moscow, Marseille, Club Brugge, Borussia Monchengladbach, Istanbul Basaksehir, FC Midtjylland, Stade Rennes, Ferencvaros

The teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams, with no more than one from each country. Clubs from Ukraine and Russia cannot be drawn against each other due to political reasons.

The top two will go through to the UCL knockout rounds, with third place dropping into the Europa League round of 32.

The group stage begins on October 20 and 21 and will be played over six midweeks through to December 9, with the final in Turkey at the Ataturk Olympic Stadium, Istanbul on May 29, 2021.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.