Premier League

Sadio Mane, Bukayo Saka nominated for PFA awards

Liverpool forward Sadio Mane and Arsenal winger Bukayo Saka have been shortlisted for the PFA Premier League Player of the Season award.

Mane was in an electrifying for Jurgen Klopp’s side in the 2019-20 season, helping his side to win the title for the first time in 30 years.

The Senegalese international netted 18 times and provided nine assists in 35 league games, besides his other dazzling displays for Jurgen Klopp’s men.

Following his performances, he has been shortlisted for the best player prize along with his teammates Jordan Henderson, Trent Alexander-Arnold and and Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne, who is theo favourite to take the 2019/20 PFA crown.

The gong will be awarded next Tuesday, September 8, at 7pm, with one of Henderson or De Bruyne expected to be crowned Player of the Year.

Three other crowns will also be handed out on the same day: the women’s Player of the Year award, and both the men’s and women’s Young Player awards.

Chelsea and Manchester United have two players apiece running for the men’s Young Player award, alongside Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka and Liverpool’s Alexander-Arnold – who, as mentioned above, is also a contender for the main honour.

Isaac Darko
Isaac Darko is the lead Combat Sports writer for AfroBallers. He is an expert in Boxing, Mixed Martial Art and Wrestling reportage. Isaac is a journalist with newfound love for athlete management and digital media.

    You may also like

    Leave a reply