Europa LeagueFootballLa liga

Sevilla crowned Europa League champions for the sixth time

Sevilla beat Inter Milan 3-2 to win the 2019/20 edition of the Europa League

Sevilla’s love affair with the Europa League lived on after they beat Inter Milan 3-2 in a thrilling final behind closed doors on Friday, August 21, 2020, in Cologne to win the trophy for a record-extending sixth time.

Defender Diego Carlos, wearing a bandage on his leg, struck the decisive goal in the 74th minute with an overhead kick which took a huge deflection off Inter forward Romelu Lukaku.

There was added intrigue as Diego Carlos looked to have denied Lukaku a clear scoring chance when he fouled the Belgian in the fourth minute, with Lukaku dusting himself off to fire Inter into the lead while scoring his 34th goal of the season.

Sevilla soon equalised with a header through Luuk de Jong then the Dutchman struck again with a header to give his side the lead in the 33rd minute, only for Inter defender Diego Godin to also score a header moments later to make it 2-2. The match was played without any fans in attendance due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sevilla finals wins:

2006: 4-0 against Middlesborough

2007: 2-2 against Espanyol (Sevilla win on pens)

2014: 0-0 against Benfica (Sevilla win on pens)

2015 3-2 against Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk

2016: 3-1 against Liverpool

2020: 3-2 against Inter Milan

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *